top of page


The New Achiever Award recognizes emerging professionals who have exhibited the potential to make
significant contributions to family and consumer sciences and lead the association into the future. *
The Leader Award identifies and honors family and consumer sciences professionals who have made
significant contributions to the field through their involvement with OAFCS and AAFCS. *
The Distinguished Service Award recognizes superior achievements in family and consumer sciences,
outstanding contributions to the family and consumer sciences profession and sustained association
leadership at the state and local levels. *
The Ohio Teacher of the Year will be recognized for having designed and implemented an innovative
and creative program. *
The above awardees can submit an application to AAFCS for the National level of the received Ohio Award.
Applications are due the second Monday in January. *OAFCS members only.
OAFCS also awards the Friend of the Family. This honor is presented to an individual or organization
involved in making decisions that affect the well-being of families. Its purpose is to recognize leaders
whose work over time has made a significant contribution to policy areas affecting the family.
The Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Award recognizes someone with an outstanding thesis and
dissertation completed during the past two years.
The Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award recognizes research completed by a student while
enrolled in a Family and Consumer Sciences undergraduate program in Ohio.
Additionally, there are Professional Section Awards. These awards are awarded to professionals who
have made great strides to improve their programming in their industry, increase participation and
involvement, and promote the importance of FCS to others. These awards include the following:
Home and Community
Human Services
Student Member Section (Pre-Professional/Graduate Student)
In addition to the award applications, scholarships (see scholarship page to apply) include:
OAFCS Scholarship - will award one $1,000 scholarship to an undergrad or master’s student enrolled in
ANY AREA of Family and Consumer Sciences (Fashion, Education, Interiors, Early Childhood, Nutrition, etc.)
Sharon V. McManus Endowment Scholarship - will award one scholarship to an undergrad or
master’s student enrolled in FCS Education, Education & Training, or Early Childhood Education.
Applications for these awards and forms, requirements, and instructions for filling out the applications are
available online at Completed forms are due by July 19th and should be sent to Kimberly
Shuster, Awards Chair,

bottom of page